Or Go To Random Hobby
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5
  • 4

Other people want to start this hobby


Although Astrology has always been extremely popular, there seems to be a resurgence and many people are sticking to it now more than ever. If you don`t know anything about Astrology or know a lot and want to learn more, you are in the right place. First what is Astrology? Officially Astrology is a form of divination based on the theory that the movements of the celestial bodies–the stars, the planets, the sun, and the moon–influence human affairs and determine the course of events.

Below is a terrific introductory article where you can learn the basics and how to get started. You can help grow our learning community by contributing your knowledge to the article. Just click on the edit tab in the wiki article below.

Use the white subtabs above to navigate the other Kite resources. We have a Kite forum where you can get your questions & doubts answered, a page with Kite how-to videos, a page with the best handpicked links to other sites, and a page with the best Kite books and products.

Good Luck and Have Fun!
Duncan Davis



Astrology is an intriguing subject. It is really thrilling to know the effect of various planets, constellations, the sun and the moon on our lives. Astrology is a study of all this and much more. It also tells you about your spiritual connection to an entity in the higher plane. If you are interested in cultivating astrology as your hobby then you have come to the right place. Here you are going to learn about the various concepts and symbols used, which will build a strong base for your in-depth astrological study.

Types of Astrology

Out of the various types of astrology, the ones that were most famous in the bygone years were Horary, Mundane and Natal. Horary Astrology was used to determine auspicious time of action, Mundane was used to predict disasters and Natal, the more famous one, was used to determine the type of personality one possesses, with the help of natal or birth charts. This form of astrology is in use till date. Current traditions in astrology are Vedic Astrology, Western Astrology and Chinese astrology (exists in different forms, in different places).

Both, Vedic Astrology and Western astrology, have a common ancestry. Both of them cast a horoscope or astrological chart that represents celestial bodies like the Sun, the Moon, the planets and constellations of stars. The basic difference between these two types is that Vedic astrology is based on Sidereal zodiacs, where the zodiacs are linked to their original constellations, whereas Western astrology is based on tropical zodiacs. The 12 zodiac signs of western astrology do not correspond to their original constellations. But in Vedic astrology, it is this very position that is of prime importance. Additionally, in Vedic astrology nakshatras or lunar mansions and dashas or planetary periods are also important.

In Chinese astrology, the 12 signs of the zodiac are not for the positions of the celestial bodies in the sky, but on the celestial equator. In Chinese astrology the signs correspond to one of the two sets of 12 hours in a day and also to one of the 12 months. Each year is governed by a sign and combines with a system that is based on 5 elements of Chinese cosmology, which gives rise to a cycle of 60 years.

Birth Chart

Birth Chart is the map of the Sun, the Moon and the planets at the exact place and moment of birth. For simplification, only these heavenly bodies are included in the birth chart, though one can also include other heavenly bodies like asteroids and stars. Exclusion of the stars and asteroids does not invalidate astrology. The principle behind creating a birth chart is that a person is said to possess qualities according to the time he/she is born. It is our astrological portrait that tells us of our highest potentials and symbolically represents our psyche.

The Elements

The entire universe constitutes of 4 elements, namely fire, water, air and earth. These elements represent certain traits and when applied to personalities, give them a certain “temperament”. This temperament is variable as it depends upon the emphasis or non emphasis of elements in our horoscope. People who have a strong emphasis of fire element are impulsive and spontaneous. Their emotional response is fast and they exercise their energies wholeheartedly and have quite a lively imagination. Zodiac signs that fall under this element are Aries, Sagittarius and Leo. People who fall under the Air element are animated and quick. Their energies are applied in diverse ways. They have a tendency to intellectualize their expectations and feelings. Aquarius, Libra and Gemini zodiacs fall under this element. People who have a strong emphasis of Water element are very sensitive and are the ‘feeling’ type. They have rich and deep emotional and imaginative lives. Cancer, Pisces and Scorpio have a strong emphasis of Water element. People who have a strong emphasis of Earth element react slowly and quietly. They have great level of endurance. They are deeply rooted emotionally and hence change very slowly. Zodiac signs Taurus, Capricorn and Virgo have strong Earth emphasis.

The four elements have three states or qualities each called the fixed, the mutable and the cardinal states. For an analogy, water in it liquid form will be in its cardinal state, in ice form will be in its fixed state and in its vapor form will be in mutable state. Aries, Libra, Capricorn and Cancer come under Cardinal signs. They are initiators as they have an urge to shape up things. Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius and Taurus come under fixed signs. They build on what is already there and make it more organized. Sagittarius, Pieces, Virgo and Gemini are Mutable signs. They change things and their actions change with the unfolding process

The Zodiacs

There are 12 sun signs and each belongs to an element in one of its forms. Thus emerges the figure of ‘12’ signs. There can not be a pure Scorpio or a pure Libra as each person has a horoscope with different positions of the heavenly bodies. Each horoscope is very unique and complex. To understand each sign properly we also need to take an account of its elemental qualities and also the characteristics of the planets to which each one of them belongs.

Aries is a cardinal Fire sign that is ruled by Mars. Taurus is a fixed Earth sign that is ruled by Venus. Gemini is a mutable Air sign ruled by Mercury. Cancer is a cardinal Water sign ruled by Moon. Leo is a fixed Fire sign ruled by the Sun. Virgo is a Mutable Earth sign ruled by Mercury. Libra is a cardinal Air sign ruled by Venus. Scorpio is a fixed Water sign ruled by Pluto. Sagittarius is a mutable Fire sign ruled by Jupiter. Capricorn is a cardinal Earth sign ruled by Saturn. Aquarius is a fixed Air sign ruled by Uranus. Pisces is a mutable Water sign ruled by Neptune.

The Houses

The horoscope is divided in to a number of houses, usually 12. The position of these houses depends on location and time of birth more, rather than the date of birth. They represent the different spheres of life. These spheres can be described in terms of personal experiences in life as well as physical surroundings. In the chart, the position of a zodiac sign or planet in a house determines to a large extent how a personal planet will act in an area or phase of life, and also the activities on which its force needs to be exerted.